THEATRE DIARY: May

With the year flying by so fast that we’ll be singing ‘Jingle Bells’ before you know it, it’s time for my monthly diary with the ins and outs of my theatre-going over the next 31 days. Let me know if you’re going to any of these too!

A Mad World My Masters, Barbican Theatre (Weds 6th)

Mad World My MastersA co-production between the RSC and the English Touring Theatre, this updated version of the Thomas Middleton Jacobean comedy is set in 1950s Soho in the world of conmen, actors, débutantes and whores. With live music and double entendres a-plenty, this production has a faint ring of One Man, Two Guvnors about it. It sounds like an entertaining night out, but whether it reaches the heights of the Richard Bean’s smash hit remains to be seen.

Click here for more details.

Vote For MeLondon Theatre Workshop (Thurs 7th)

A general election is on the horizon, the London theatre scene has been buzzing with political theatre – and I’ve so far seen none of it. To be honest, it doesn’t particularly float my boat, and nothing I’ve read about has made me want to change that view enough to go and see it. Yet when this offer dropped into my inbox, it sounded much more up my street. Now in London after an off-Broadway sell-out run, Vote For Me focuses on the USA rather than the UK, and is an interactive presidential debate musical! Commissioned by the producer of Avenue Q, I’m expecting satire and maybe a dash of mayhem in this theatre trip, which will also be my first meet-up with the #LDNTheatreBloggers in a while. What better way to spend election night?

Click here for more details.

High Society, Old Vic (Weds 13th)

High SocietyWell did you evah! This one is a cause of great excitement. After Gypsy last month I’m craving another classic musical, and the Old Vic is providing a beautiful and feel-good one in the form of High Society. With cast attractions like Jamie Parker and Kate Fleetwood, Maria Friedman behind it all, and the unbeatable songs of Cole Porter, I have hopes for this to be a swell party as the theatre continues its successful season in the round.

Click here for more details.

The Taming of the Shrew, New Wimbledon Studio (Weds 27th)

Another Wednesday (they’re popular this month!) and it’s back to Shakespeare for a gender-bending version of this somewhat problematic comedy. The show is possibly best described in their own words: “Staged as a play within a play, where roles are swapped and lines are traded, Arrows and Traps re-imagine the classic tale of the Taming of the Shrew with a full cast gender inversion that flips the whole story on its head.” It’s always been one of the more tricky Shakespeare comedies for me, so I’m intrigued to see whether this production can convert me…

Click here for more details.

6 thoughts on “THEATRE DIARY: May

  1. Looks like we are crisscrossing each across London theatre’s again. Went to Bugsy Malone and off to High Society in June! I think my May is quiet but Everyman next Friday that am very excited about. Happy wandering.

    Like

      • I thought it was just terrific. I am usually on a page with Billers but he wanted ‘meaning’. Who goes to see Bugsy Malone for meaning? I may be a curmudgeon but even my cockles were warmed by it!

        Like

        • Yeah I thought it was fab, not perfect but a lot of fun. Hmm yes I thought he didn’t seem to be a fan of the musical in general rather than this particular version. Clearly he’s even more curmudgeonly than you! 😛

          Like

      • Also definitely get tickets. Rufus Norris brilliant director. And I was lucky enough to see Chiwetel Ejiofor in Othello at the Donmar – in the top 3 stage performances I have ever seen.

        [Side note: looking at my programme, a certain Mr Hiddlestone played Cassio I notice – stop your heart swooning!]

        Like

Leave a Reply

