THEATRE DIARY: March

Um, excuse me, Father Time? Where did February go? It seemed to whizz by in a flash of theatre that ranged from the wonderfully moving (Taken at Midnight) to the sadly disappointing (Hamlet), and I’m still writing up the reviews! But we’re on the move into March, so here’s the diary of upcoming shows this month:

One Man Two Guvnors, New Wimbledon Theatre (Sat 7th)

I was so sad to miss this much-loved comedy in the West End, so the UK tour was exciting news and I can’t wait to see it in Wimbledon to kick off the month’s theatre-going. With glowing reports from the critics, friends and family who’ve seen it, I don’t really anticipate anything but loving this show – so lets hope it lives up to expectations!

Click here for more details.

(c) Jan Versweyveld
(c) Jan Versweyveld

Antigone, Barbican (Sun 8th)

With Medea proving to be a highlight of 2014 at the National, but Electra somewhat of a let-down at the Old Vic, it’s time for another female-led ancient tragedy. This time Juliette Binoche takes the role of Antigone in a contemporary reworking of Sophocles’s great tragedy, which I last saw as a student production at the ADC in Cambridge. With direction by Ivo van Hove, this could prove to be a cracker of a show.

Click here for more details.

A View from the Bridge, Wyndham’s Theatre (Tue 10th)

(c) Jan Versweyfeld
(c) Jan Versweyfeld

It’s an Ivo van Hove-themed month, as I’m off to see his celebrated version of this Arthur Miller classic, which has transferred to the West End from the Young Vic. I was left feeling rather foolish as I decided to not bother with the original production, on the basis that I felt like I’d seen and studied this play to death. Obviously I regretted my decision once the reviews had come in and I’d hear everyone raving about it, and particularly about Mark Strong’s lead performance. It feels appropriate that I’m seeing this soon after Antigone, as I’ve heard there is a strong feel of Greek tragedy to the production. One to get excited about, for sure.

Click here for more details.

TrainspottingKing’s Head Theatre (Fri 20th)

 (c) Edinburgh Photography
(c) Edinburgh Photography

After three shows ranging from classical to modern classic (can we call One Man that yet?), here’s something a bit different. Irvine Welsh’s novel is re-imagined in a promenade theatre piece by In Your Face Theatre after a sell-out run at the Edinburgh Fringe. The company packs the visceral, controversial book into 60 minutes in a production that Welsh himself has praised, saying: “an outstanding job of revising and rebooting Trainspotting for the modern age. I can’t recommend it enough. I was shocked, and I wrote the f**king thing.” Praise indeed, and I’m intrigued to see it for myself.

Click here to see the trailer.

Saturday Night Fever, Richmond Theatre (Tue 24th)

So I’m venturing all the way down south for a first visit to Richmond Theatre on reviewing duties for A Younger Theatre. I’ll be there to see the UK tour of Saturday Night Fever, which I last saw in a West End outing several years back, and remember mainly as a lot of fun and frothy disco music. I’ll be interested to see how fresh this tour feels, but whatever happens I’m still happy to seek out some flares and disco balls to boogie like it’s 1976.

Click here for more information.

Clarence Darrow, Old Vic (Tue 31st)

Clarence Darrow - Old Vic, Kevin SpaceyI could not be more excited about rounding off another month’s theatregoing by seeing Kevin Spacey in this acclaimed one-man show, which is being revived at the Old Vic after last year’s smash hit run to mark Spacey’s final year as artistic director at the venue after 10 years. By all accounts it’s stunning portrayal of one of America’s most famous lawyers, with a script by David W. Rintels and direction by Thea Sharrock. I’d just better to remember to turn my phone off…

Click here for more details.

Leave a Reply

